Managing Prospects & Customers in Base

A sales process doesn't have to be a complex thing – but you do need to know where you stand with your contacts.

Using our Customer and Prospect categories, you can easily review contacts you've had deals with.

 ​
To help you work with your contacts in Base, we divided the Contacts section into three separate tabs: All Contacts, Prospects and Customers. 



Using our Customer and Prospect categories, you can easily review contacts you’ve done business with. 
With Prospects you have one place where you can see every contact that you’re actively selling to. 
With Customers, you have all the contacts you’ve Won deals with.

In the All Contacts list you will find Contacts, Prospects and Customers all together - all the Contacts that you have in Base. You can recognize Prospects and Customers at a glance thanks to the credit card icon that shows up next to their name.

Handy filters will let you narrow down the list to whichever group you want to focus on. 
And in order to focus on other contacts, just select the Regular Contacts filter from the filters column – and set off to create new Prospects.




When you open a contact's page, the status indicators right under a contact's name tell you if it's a Prospect, a Customer, or neither. 





Contacts can be automatically flagged as Prospects or Customers, too. 

​To put it simply, the path a contact goes through can be summarized as Contact > Prospect > Customer.

Here are detailed rules of how we classify Prospects, Lost Prospects, Customers and Past Customers:

Prospects:
When you start a deal with a contact or company, they are automatically converted into a Current Prospect and remain such unless they’re removed from the Deal or the Deal is closed.
A Current Prospect will automatically become a Lost Prospect if the Deal attached to it is moved to Lost or Unqualified. It will remain a Lost Prospect until you open a new deal with them.

Customers:
When you move the Deal through your pipeline and mark it as Won, the Contact attached to it is automatically marked as a Current Customer and will remain a Current Customer unless they’re manually marked as a Past Customer.

If you haven't worked with a Customer for a while (or if you had deals with them before you signed up for Base), but want to renew your relationship, you might want to mark them as a Past Customer. This lets you filter and work separately with either Current or Past Customers, depending on which group you want to concentrate on. Past Customer status can only be selected manually..

Companies and Employees and automatic status changes
If a deal is associated with an employee of a company (the employee is the deal's main contact, as shown by the star icon by their name), automatic status changes affect both the employee and the company. This means that both the employee and the company will become Current Prospects upon deal creation and, when a deal is won, both the employee and the company will become Current Customers.
These automatic status changes will also affect any other employee of this company, if that employee is also listed on the deal. Any other employees of this company who are not added to the deal will not be marked as prospects.

Note: Any additional contacts, even though listed on the deal, will not become prospects. Only the deal's main contact, its parent company, and its co-workers (if applicable) are marked as prospects.

You can set up tags and custom fields that are specific for your Prospects and Customers in their dedicated Settings page, to make it easier to keep all the relevant data exactly where you need it.

Try using Base Prospects and Customers now to manage all your contacts!

To sum up:
Current Prospect is a contact you have an active deal with. A contact becomes a Current Prospect when an active deal is created for them.
Lost Prospect is a contact you only have Lost or Unqualified deals with, or when marked manually.

A Current Customer is a contact you have Won a deal with, or when marked manually.
Past Customer is a contact you want to be able to filter out on the Customers tab – this status can only be selected manually.

Note: certain combinations of Prospect and Customer statuses are not selectable.
A contact with an active deal cannot be a Non-Prospect or a Lost Prospect.
A contact without an active deal cannot be a Prospect.
A contact with at least one Won deal cannot be a Lost Prospect.
In order to remove all statuses from a contact (i.e. revert them to a regular contact) you need to delete all deals associated with a contact.