How do I Share My Emails with My Team?

For a quick overview of setting up Email Visibility please check out this video:

 

When your team is working on a joint project, it's important for everyone to be in the loop and on the same page.

Base lets you do that in a number of ways - the latest is our email sharing feature, also known as email visibility.

You can configure the visibility of your emails in two ways:

On its most basic level, this feature lets you share your email conversations with a specified email address – this makes those emails visible to those members of your team who can access the contact, lead, or deal in question.

Note: this applies to an individual email address, whereas a contact or lead can have more than one address entered as custom fields.

Naturally, you're always able to switch that setting back to private for any such email address.

Enabling email visibility for an individual address

Just click the orange button at the top of a contact's activity feed, and select the addresses whose emails you want to share with your team.You can select one or more available email addresses. 
 


This will make emails to and from this address visible to every other user of your account who can access the contact, lead, or deal. 

Notes

There are some additional things to keep in mind about how these visibility changes on a contact can affect the same emails on the contact's deal(s).

Specifically:

  • Making a contact's emails public on the contact page will make them public on the contact's deal page;
  • Making the contact's emails public on the deal page will not automatically make them public on the contact's own page;
  • Switching the emails back to private on a contact's page will display a dialog asking if you want to make the emails private on a deal;
  • Switching the emails back to private on a deal page will display a dialog asking if you want to make the emails private on the contact.




Working with public emails 

You can easily see if an email is made public by looking at the padlock icon in the top line of the email - a closed padlock means the email is private, an open padlock - the email is public.

When other members of your team share their emails with you, you'll be able to see the receipt status on email they send to contacts, like you would on your own. 

You won’t see if your colleague has read an email from a contact – the dots that indicate unread emails are visible only on emails addressed to yourself.

You won't be able to reply to emails shared by other team members; you can forward them to other recipients.

Enabling email visibility globally

When you navigate to the Visibility settings page, you will have the option to specify separate visibility rules for leads, contacts, and deals. This is a great way to quickly manage the general rules for your emails. Once you do that, you can manage the visibility of emails with specific people using the manual settings or blacklisting.

These settings can be managed even before you integrate your email with Base. The default setting for all newly invited Base users is that their emails are not visible.

Note
: these settings affect only emails sent or received by yourself – each member of your team needs to manage them for their own respective emails.



For each of the categories, you have four settings to choose from:

  • not visible
  • visible
  • visible only if I'm an owner or collaborator​
  • visible only if I'm an owner.


Not visible – your email conversations on a given category (leads, contacts, or deals) are not visible to other members of your team.

Visible – your email conversations on a given category (leads, contacts, or deals) are always visible to other members of your team.

Visible only if I'm an owner or collaborator​ – your email conversations on a given category (leads, contacts, or deals) are visible to other members of your team only if you are the owner of the lead, contact, or deal in question or if are a collaborator on it.

Visible only if I'm an owner – your email conversations on a given category (leads, contacts, or deals) are visible to other members of your team only if you are the owner of the lead, contact, or deal in question.

Note that if you select either "visible only if I'm an owner or collaborator​" or "visible only if I'm an owner," and subsequently change the ownership of a lead, contact, or deal (or stop collaborating on it), the visibility of email conversations for that lead, contact, or deal will be affected accordingly.
Similarly, under these settings, if you become the owner of a lead, contact, or deal you previously had email conversations on, those conversations will become visible to others.

You have the option of changing the visibility of specific settings manually – this overrides the global settings.

 

Blacklisting email addresses


Blacklisting an address is another way to manage specific addresses.
When you add an email address to the blacklist, Base stops tracking your email communication with that address entirely – you can send an email to it, but it won't be recorded in Base.




Individual Emails
If you add a contact or lead with multiple email addresses to the blacklist, all of that lead's or contact's email addresses will be blacklisted automatically. 
You can manually remove any address from the blacklist. This does not affect any other address on the list.

If an email is addressed to multiple recipients, and one of them is blacklisted, the email is only visible on the feed of the non-blacklisted recipient.

If you have a deal with a blacklisted contact, that deal will not display any emails. 

When you navigate to a blacklisted contact, you will see a note saying “This contact is blacklisted.”

This prevents you from manually changing the visibility of the contact's emails

Team members

In order to make sure that your communication in Base only includes pertinent exchanges with the customers, we automatically blacklist email addresses of your team members (this includes emails sent to and from their login emails, integrated emails, etc.).
This applies only to emails where the sole recipient or sender is a member of your team.

If you CC your team member on an email to a customer, the email will be visible on the customer's page.

Note: You cannot unblock those email addresses manually.

Email visibility is available on all plans and for all platforms.