For a quick overview of setting up Email Visibility, check out this video:
Email Visibility Settings are included on all plans.
Make email conversations with Leads and Contacts visible to your team by enabling email visibility. Control email visibility on a Lead to Lead basis or globally - each user controls their own visibility settings to hide or share emails with their team.
You can configure the visibility of your emails in two ways:
On its most basic level, this feature lets you share your email conversations with a specified email address – this makes those emails visible to those members of your team who can access the Lead, Contact, or Deal in question.
Note: This applies to an individual email address, keep in mind that a Lead or Contact can have more than one email address if saved in custom fields.
Naturally, you're always able to switch that setting back to private for any such email address.
Click the orange button at the top of a contact's activity feed, and select the addresses whose emails you want to share with your team.You can select one or more available email addresses.
This makes emails to and from this address visible to every other user of your account who can access the Lead, Contact, or Deal.
There are some additional things to keep in mind about how these visibility changes on a Contact can affect the same emails on the Contact's Deal(s).
- Making a contact's emails public on the contact card makes them public on the contact's deal card
- Making the contact's emails public on the deal card will not automatically make them public on the contact card
- Switching the emails back to private on a contact card will display a dialog asking if you want to make the emails private on the deal
- Switching the emails back to private on a deal card will display a dialog asking if you want to make the emails private on the contact.
Working with public emails
You can see if an email is made public to your team by the padlock icon next to the email - a closed padlock indicates the email is private, whereas an open padlock indicates the email is public.
When other members of your team share their emails with you, you'll be able to see the receipt status on email they send to contacts, like you would on your own.
You won’t see if your colleague has read an email from a contact. The green circles that highlight unread emails are visible only on emails sent to you. Additionally, you won't be able to reply to emails shared by other team members; you can forward them to other recipients.
When you navigate to the Visibility settings page, you will have the option to specify separate visibility rules for Leads, Contacts, and Deals. This is a great way to quickly manage the general rules for how you would like your emails to be shared. You can manage these global settings alongside the visibility of emails with specific people using the manual settings or blacklisting.
These settings can be managed even before you integrate your email with Sell. The default setting for all newly invited Sell users is that their emails are not visible.
For each of the categories, you have four settings to choose from:
- not visible
- visible only if I'm an owner or collaborator
- visible only if I'm an owner
Not visible – your email conversations on a given category (leads, contacts, or deals) are not visible to other members of your team.
Visible – your email conversations on a given category (leads, contacts, or deals) are always visible to other members of your team.
Visible only if I'm an owner or collaborator – your email conversations on a given category (leads, contacts, or deals) are visible to other members of your team only if you are the owner of the lead, contact, or deal in question or if you're a collaborator on it.
Visible only if I'm an owner – your email conversations on a given category (leads, contacts, or deals) are visible to other members of your team only if you are the owner of the lead, contact, or deal in question.
Similarly, under these settings, if you become the owner of a lead, contact, or deal you previously had email conversations on, those conversations will become visible to others. You have the option of changing the visibility of specific settings manually – this overrides the global settings.
Blacklisting an address is another way to manage specific addresses. When you add an email address to the blacklist, Sell stops tracking your email communication with that address entirely – you can send an email to it, but it won't be recorded in Sell.
If you add a contact or lead with multiple email addresses to the blacklist, all email addresses stored on the given record will be blacklisted automatically. You can manually remove any address from the Blacklist, simply select "unblock".
If an email is addressed to multiple recipients, and one of them is blacklisted, the email is only visible on the feed of the non-blacklisted recipient. If you have a deal with a blacklisted contact, that deal will not display any emails. When you navigate to a blacklisted contact, you will see a note saying “This contact is blacklisted".
In order to make sure that your communication in Sell only includes pertinent exchanges with prospects and customers, we automatically blacklist email addresses of your team members (this includes emails sent to and from their login emails, integrated emails, etc.).
This applies only to direct email communication with team members, meaning emails where the sole recipient or sender is another user on the account. If you CC a team member on an email to a Lead, the email will be visible on the Lead card.
Note: You cannot unblock team member's email addresses.