Contacts - Tags

What are tags?

A tag is a keyword or term that is assigned to a contact (also to a lead or a deal). Tagging can be useful when you need something to quickly filter Contacts by. For example, if certain Contacts are more valuable than others, adding a “Premium” Tag to them can help differentiate them from other Contacts. Furthermore, you can then use the tags to categorise your Contacts and tailor your actions to them. 

Tags can also be used to filter your Reports. Simply select the Report that you'd like to see, then select the relevant Tag from the top of the page. This will filter the Report to only display information from items with that Tag. 

When you first start using Base, there are no tags defined - you need to create your own tags in the Settings for Contacts.

How to create tags?

  • To create tags go to Settings. If you want them to affect all contacts, add them to Customize > Contacts. If you want them to show up only for Prospects and Customers, add them to Customize > Accounts. There you only add a tag's name and you're done.
  • You can also create new tags directly when creating or editing a Contact. You just have to type in a new tag in the Tag field, hit enter and Save the edits (new tag won't be saved if you discard your changes).
  • Tags can be also created during Import process, when selecting the fields to map to.
  • Leads have their own tags set up in Customize > Leads. These tags will be automatically carried over when converting a lead. When you first covert a lead with the non-empty tag, a new contact tag will be automatically created and labeled just as the lead tag.

How to edit tags?

To edit tags go to Settings and the proper Customize section and choose a tag to edit. If you can't see the edit button next to the tags, it means you don't have permissions to edit them (see tags and permissions)

How does that affect the Contacts tagged with the edited tag? The assignments won't change, all the tagged contacts will now displayed the changed tag label.

How to delete tags?

To delete a tag, select the red trash icon next to the tag (in Settings > Customize). You'll be prompted to confirm your choice. If you can't see the delete icon next to the tags, it means you don't have permissions to edit them. 

What happens with tags when contacts change their state and type?

We never delete tags when leads or contacts change their state. When you convert a lead that had one or more lead-specific tags assigned, these tags are carried on to the new contact card. Also, corresponding tags are created for Contacts in Settings > Customize. This is the same for Contact to Prospect or Customer changes - tags stay on the contact card and corresponding tags are created in Accounts section in Settings > Customize. When you change a prospect or customer back to a regular contact, still no tags are lost (unlike account-specific custom fields). Once again, corresponding tags are created for Contacts in Settings > Customize.

Tags and permissions

Tags are system-wide, which means that any tag you create will be visible to your whole team.

Editing tags

You can edit tags created by you or your subordinates. To edit tags created by other users, you need to have admin privileges.

Deleting tags

You can delete tags created by you or your subordinates. To delete tags created by other users, you need to have admin privileges.