Overview of the Outlook Plugin Integration with Zendesk Sell

If you're looking to sync emails to Sell, we strongly recommend enabling the Email Integration! While we still offer the option to install our Outlook Plugin, please note this integration is deprecated and we don't have plans to build on this moving forward. The Outlook Plugin is available on our legacy Starter, Professional, and Enterprise Plans.

 

Overview:

Outlook is an essential tool for many sales reps. Zendesk Sell for Outlook lets you manage customers and track conversations in Sell without ever leaving Outlook. The widget copies your Outlook contact activity right into your Sell account. This Outlook plugin will continuously sync your Outlook contacts with your Sell contacts and give you the option of attaching emails to that customer’s Sell contact card.

When you install the Sell plugin for Outlook, you can sync your existing contact groups with Sell. Any time you update a contact in Outlook, the contact will be updated in Sell. Likewise, any updates to contacts in Sell will be reflected in Outlook. After you’ve synced your Sell contacts with Outlook, you can open a contact and see all related deals.

NOTE: This is different from the Outlook calendar, Exchange Email integration, and Exchange Contacts integration. Instructions to set up your Outlook email integration here, Exchange calendar integration here, and Exchange Contacts sync here.

 

Auto-Update Contacts

Sell for Outlook lets you manage your customers and track conversations in Sell without ever leaving Outlook. The widget copies your Outlook contact activity right into your Sell account. When you install the Sell plugin for Outlook, you can sync your existing contact groups with Sell. Any time you update a contact in Outlook, the contact will be updated in Sell. Likewise, any updates to contacts in Sell will be reflected in Outlook. After you’ve synced your Sell contacts with Outlook, you can open a contact and see all related deals.

 

Steps:

Installation

The Outlook plugin can be downloaded here.

Once you download the plugin it will run through a standard installation wizard:

Screen_Shot_2017-03-27_at_10.08.53_PM.png

You may receive a "Publisher can't be verified" message and will have to click Install to continue.

Screen_Shot_2017-03-27_at_10.11.55_PM.png

 You may also receive a security notice as well.

Screen_Shot_2017-03-27_at_10.13.09_PM.png

Once you install the plugin you will have to login to a valid Sell account. This can be any account type and doesn't have the match the email account that you are using with Outlook.

Screen_Shot_2017-03-27_at_10.19.36_PM.png

Sell will create 2 new folders in Outlook

Screen_Shot_2017-03-27_at_10.18.26_PM.png

 

 Screen_Shot_2017-03-27_at_10.17.48_PM.png

 

 

Outlook Plugin FAQ

Requirements 
Sell for Outlook works with Outlook 2007, 2010, 2013 and 2016. At this time, Outlook for Mac does not support plugins.

Is the sync 2-way? 
Yes, the sync is 2-way meaning any updates in Outlook will be visible in Sell and and contact updates in Sell will be visible in Outlook.

How often does Outlook sync with Sell? 
Sell syncs with Outlook every 15 minutes. Any changes in Outlook are immediately visible in Sell. 

Are custom fields synced? 
Yes, custom contact fields from Sell will be added to Outlook and vice versa.

Are attachments supported? 
At this time, file attachments are not displayed in Sell when emails are added via the plugin, but if you enable the full email sync, you will see email attachments. 

What happens if I have the same contact in Outlook and Sell, will they be merged? 
Yes, if there is a contact in both Sell and Outlook with the same email address, we will merge these contacts together to prevent duplicates.

Why am I seeing duplicates in Sell?

We typically recommend to turn the integration off after initial uploading of your Outlook Contacts. Also, please ensure you do not have the Outlook integration AND Exchange integration both enabled. 

Can I use the Outlook Plugin alongside the Email Integration?

No. We recommend enabling the Email Integration as your primary solution for syncing emails to Sell. The Email Integration has the same functionality as the Outlook Plugin and much more; additionally, having both enabled simultaneously can create risk for sync issues in Sell. 

 

How to uninstall the Sell Plugin for Outlook 

To uninstall the Sell plugin for Outlook, first you'll need to quit Outlook. 

Then you'll need to go to Add and Remove Programs in the Windows Settings and uninstall Sell. This will fully remove the Sell Outlook Plugin from the machine.