We've outlined some of the most frequently asked questions about Exchange Sync here. If you still have any questions, just let us know!
Can I sync my global Contacts, or Contacts in a shared Exchange folder into Base?
At the moment, we support only private folders in Exchange. Contacts in shared or global folders cannot be brought into Base.
Is this a 2 way sync?
Yes - for example. updating a phone number for a synced Contact in Exchange will update that information in Base and vice versa.
Do only Contacts I own sync back into Exchange?
The Exchange Sync will actually sync all of the Contacts that you have visibility into. For example, if you are a Manager (with visibility into all of your users' Contacts), all of the Contacts you see in Base will be synced back into Exchange.
Will duplicates in Exchange be merged in Base?
If you have duplicated contacts in Exchange, each of the duplicates will be brought into Base as is. That said, you can later merge Contacts in Base when you come across them. Contacts you merge in Base will not merge in Exchange - rather, they will simply cease to sync with all but one of those records in Exchange.
Why did I not see an option to select Categories when I integrated?
This occurs when you do not have Categories defined in your Exchange account. You'll need to define Categories in order to pull information into Base - without this, we will only sync your Base Contacts over to your Exchange account.
What Categories does Base create in Outlook when I turn on Exchange Sync?
Base will create the following categories within your Exchange account.
- Base Person - Contacts existing in Base will be placed in this category
- Base Company - Companies existing in Base will be placed in this category
- Base Current Prospect - Contacts with active Deals will be placed in this category
- Base Lost Prospect - Contacts with Unqualified or Lost Deals will be placed in this category
- Base Current Customer - Contacts with Won Deals and the Current Customer status in Base will be placed in this category
- Base Past Customer - Contacts with the Past Customer status in Base will be placed in this category
- Base Lead - Any Leads in Base will be placed in this category
What are Prospects and Customers? Click here to find out!
What happens if I have the same Contact in Exchange and Base?
Base will attempt to intelligently find and merge Contacts as they're imported. We do this by scanning for certain matching information (Names, Addresses, Emails, etc).
If you have two matching Contacts with conflicting values in different fields, we'll pull in the latest update. If any previously stored values in Base are overwritten, we'll move those to a separate Custom Field.
Can I change the name of a Category created by Base?
Names of any Categories created by Base cannot currently be changed. If you do accidentally change one, no worries! We'll overwrite it back to its original name during the next sync.
Can I use this alongside the Base Outlook Plugin?
The plugin will actually automatically detect if you're using an Exchange account or not - if so, we'll prompt you to use this Exchange sync rather than the plugin's built in contact sync. All other aspects of the Plugin (selectively adding emails and Contacts to Base) will continue to function as normal.
Note: You'll need to be on plugin version 1.6 or later to use it alongside Exchange Sync.
If I delete a Contact in Outlook, will it be deleted in Base (or vice versa)?
No - though we will sync updates back and forth, we will not sync deletes across both services. Should you delete a Contact in Outlook or Base, you'll have to delete it in its opposite system as well.
Deleted Contacts will also not be recreated. If you accidentally import Contacts you don't wish to see in Base, you can delete them in bulk and they will not be recreated on the next sync.
Still have questions? Reach out to us at Support, we'll be happy to help!